Experts to develop the Early Years Learning Framework

Media Release

    Joint media release with The Hon Maxine McKew MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education and Child Care.

    A consortium of early childhood experts led by Charles Sturt University (CSU) will develop the national Early Years Learning Framework to improve outcomes and opportunities for children during their critical early years.

    The Minister for Education, Julia Gillard, and the Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education and Child Care, Maxine McKew, today announced that the Rudd Government will provide $700 000 to the CSU Consortium to develop the framework.

    The Early Years Learning Framework is part of the Rudd Government’s plan to develop a world-class system of integrated early childhood education and care.

    The Framework will guide early childhood educators in developing quality early childhood programs. It will also inform parents, families and the early childhood workforce about the importance of young children’s learning.

    The Early Years Learning Framework will recognise the importance of play-based learning, communication and language, including early literacy and numeracy as well as emotional and social development.

    It will also set out the broad parameters, principles and outcomes required to support and enhance children’s learning from birth to five years of age as well as their transition to school.

    The CSU Consortium is made up of early childhood academics, practitioners, service providers, peak body representatives, professional organisations and consultants.

    These experts have an in-depth understanding of the early childhood sector and extensive experience in working with children, families, early childhood educators and other key stakeholders.

    The experience, passion and skills of CSU Consortium members will ensure a Framework that is relevant, accessible and valuable to the profession.

    The Framework will underpin the Rudd Government’s Universal Access initiative and will be linked to the National Quality Standards which will ensure consistent high quality early childhood education and care across sectors and jurisdictions.

    The development of the Early Years Learning Framework is an important step towards realising the Government’s vision of high-quality, integrated and accessible education and care for young children.

    The Charles Sturt University (CSU) Consortium members list is attached.


    CSU Consortium members

    The CSU Consortium comprises the following members:

    Professor Jennifer Sumsion – Charles Sturt University (project leader)

    Associate Professor Linda Harrison – Charles Sturt University (project leader)

    Dr Jo Ailwood – Queensland University of Technology

    Dr Leonie Arthur – University of Western Sydney

    Sally Barnes – Flinders University

    Associate Professor Donna Berthelsen – Queensland University of Technology

    Carol Burgess – Charles Sturt University

    Sandra Cheeseman – Macquarie University

    Kaye Colmer – Lady Gowrie Child Centre, Adelaide

    Dr Robyn Dolby – Independent consultant

    Associate Professor Lyn Fasoli – Batchelor College

    Dr Joy Goodfellow – Independent consultant

    Miriam Giugni – Independent consultantAssociate Professor Christine Johnston – University of Western Sydney

    Veronica Johns – Batchelor College

    Anne Kennedy - Independent consultant

    Marie Lewis - Independent consultantProfessor Tom Lowrie – Charles Sturt University

    Dr Felicity McArdle – Queensland University of TechnologyDr Michelle Ortlipp – Charles Sturt University

    Dr Marina Papic – Macquarie University

    Frances Press – Charles Sturt University

    Melissa Smith – Charles Sturt University

    Anne Stonehouse – Independent consultant

    Associate Professor Jane Torr – Macquarie University

    Rebecca Watson – SDN Children’s Services

    Dr Peter Whiteman – Macquarie UniversityAssociate Professor Christine Woodrow – University of Western Sydney

    For more information

    Media mailbox: