Young Simpson Prize Winners Announced

Media Release

    Eight talented young students, winners of the Australian Government’s 2008 Simpson Prize, will attend commemorative ANZAC Day services at Gallipoli as part of their award.

    This popular national competition, now in its 10th year, honours John Simpson Kirkpatrick – ‘the man with the donkey’, famous for his bravery under fire while rescuing soldiers at Gallipoli in 1915.

    The Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, the Hon Alan Griffin, on behalf of the Hon Julia Gillard, the Minister for Education, will present the winners and runners-up with their prizes at Parliament House today.

    This year, over 1,000 Year 9 and 10 students submitted an essay or audio-visual presentation which highlighted Simpson’s heroism, and how the ANZAC spirit is exemplified by other great Australians, such as the late Bernie Banton and Dr Fred Hollows and, more recently, the 2007 Young Australian of the Year, Tania Major.

    Both Minister Gillard and Minister Griffin congratulate all of today’s award recipients who were selected from each State and Territory. They each receive an educational visit to Canberra and a medallion to celebrate their achievements.

    The list of winners, runners-up and teacher chaperones is attached.

    Further information about the Simpson Prize is at:

    2008 Simpson Prize Winners


    James Butterworth

    Canberra Grammar School, Red Hill, Australian Capital Territory

    Emma Campbell

    Frensham School, Mittagong, New South Wales

    Elizabeth Carroll-Shaw

    Walford Anglican School for Girls, Hyde Park, South Australia

    Oliver Kersnovski

    Kingaroy State High School, Kingaroy, Queensland

    Terry Lim

    Taminmin High School, Humpty Doo, Northern Territory

    Kayla Mizzi

    St Mary's Anglican Girls' School, Karrinyup, Western Australia

    Emma Norton

    The Friends School, North Hobart, Tasmania

    Jacinta Scadden

    Nathalia Secondary College, Nathalia, Victoria


    Ellie Cope

    Kings Meadows High School, Kings Meadows, Tasmania

    Stephanie Ferguson

    St Stephen’s College, Coomera, Queensland

    Rebecca Free

    Mackillop College, Swan Hill, Victoria

    Brady Inman

    Scotch College, Swanbourne, Western Australia

    Monte Sheppard

    Cranbrook School, Bellevue Hill, New South Wales

    Fiona Spitzkowsky

    Radford College, Bruce, Australian Capital Territory

    Truc Tran

    Wilderness School, Medindie, South Australia

    Zoe Whittington

    Palmerston High School, Palmerston, Northern Territory

    Selected Teacher Chaperones:

    Ms Carmel Harman

    Caboolture State High School, Caboolture, Queensland

    Mr Robert Lee

    Palmerston High School, Palmerston, Northern Territory

    For more information

    Media mailbox: